top of page

Junior Debating

On Wednesday Marist College held it's annual in house Junior Debating Final. Adjudicators were Mr Lenihan, Ms Casey and Ms Nolan. Assistant adjudicator was Rhys Ward.The Motion was 'This house believes all public buildings should have gender neutral toilets'Proposition Team: Sean Healy, Fionn McDonnell, Rory Kane and Kyle Rushe.

Proposition Individual Speaker: Oisin Flynn

Opposition Team: Darragh Elliott, TJ Mumia, Piotr Jasinki, Cian Scanlon.

Opposition Individual Speaker: Michael Ganly

In the competition overall:

Best Overall 1st Year Team: Lee Slevin, Diarmuid Shine, Ian Mullally, Ciaran O'Connor.

Best 1st Year Individual Speaker: Oisin Flynn

Best 2nd Year Team: Sean Healy, Fionn McDonnell, Rory Kane and Kyle Rushe

Best 2nd Year Individual Speaker: Darragh Elliott

This competition ran from February to May, but a lot of ground work had already been done by Mr Lenihan in his after school debating club which ran before Christmas.

In all over 40 students participated in the competition and did themselves great credit. Thanks has to go to the English Department and the 5th year judges who helped out every week.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page